My Chronicle

Life as a loving homemaker

Quick Classy Curtains From Thrift Store Tablecloths

A quick report on my most recent completed project: Curtains.

I just moved into my first house and it has a lovely box window in the front room.  I love the view!  But I also like privacy at night, and this window desperately needed some covering.

Wonderful large box window

Wonderful large box window

The view from my front window.

The view from my front window

I had an old set of curtains from my mom that were a good temporary fix compared to the other ones I tried that didn’t cover the whole window.  But they were tab top curtains, and this particular window takes up the whole box it is in.  So even when those curtains were closed, the window was visible between the tabs.  I wanted curtains that would cover the whole window, top to bottom and side to side.  And I hoped I could find some that would fit the air of calm sophistication I was going for with my decorating in that room.  The colors used in my decorating mostly included deep red, brown woods, grayish-blue, and a hint of pale yellow or gold.

Curtain fabric Ottoman fabricAfter some searching , I finally found the perfect yellow fabric (a tablecloth) at my local thrift store!  It cost $3, if I remember right and was almost exactly like the fabric I have on the ottoman in front of that particular window.  And I decided a brown tablecloth I already had would be the perfect complement. (I’d gotten this at Ross on clearance for $6 a couple years earlier).  I did some measuring and found that the yellow tablecloth’s length would cover the window perfectly from side to side, but it was a bit shorter than I wanted it when the width was hung from top to bottom.  I like the simplicity and clean lines of other color block curtains I’ve seen, so I decided I would cut the brown table cloth to make a color block across the top and across the bottom to add length.  I cut the yellow tablecloth in half to make two panels, and the brown table cloth in fourths to cover each end of each panel.  Sewing simple, straight lines, I put it all together and here are my completed curtains.

The completed curtains are yellow with brown color blocks at the top and bottom.

The completed curtains are yellow with brown color blocks at the top and bottom.

One completed panel easily covers half the window.

One completed panel easily covers half the window.

I’m very happy with how they turned out!  I definitely recommend considering tablecloths when you are looking for ways to make your own window treatments.

2 comments on “Quick Classy Curtains From Thrift Store Tablecloths

  1. Pingback: Master Bedroom Makeover Plans | My Chronicle

  2. Anna
    June 13, 2013

    Awesome! Those look so good!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Completed Projects and tagged , , , .
