My Chronicle

Life as a loving homemaker

Master Bedroom Makeover Plans

I have been on a blogging vacation for over a year.  Been busy being pregnant, having a baby, buying my first house, and getting into the swing of things now that I have three kids ages 3 and under.

But today I want to talk about some of my project plans and hopes.  Though my blogging has been on hold, my crafting brain hasn’t stopped.  And now I have my own house to do stuff with!My new house!

My first project in my new house had to do with a large front window that had no curtain and a rod that, while nice, was totally wrong for that window space.  You can read more about that project here.

But today I want to talk about my master bedroom makeover dreams.  Since I just spent money on buying a house, there’s not a lot left for anything else.  So my focus lately has been on inexpensive ways of making the place mine.  Hanging my own paintings, using leftover paints from other people’s home projects, deciding on the best places for my window treatments, and cleaning and decorating with things I already have.  I have two dreams for my master bedroom.  One of them is so lofty it will probably never happen, but I’ll share it anyway.  And the other is actually a very bold move compared to my usual decorating style.

My Dream Master Suite

My inspiration: "Dawning of Time" room at Somewhere Inn Time Bed and Breakfast

My inspiration: “Dawning of Time” room at Somewhere Inn Time Bed and Breakfast

In my dreams, the bathroom that is next to the master bedroom with actually be a master bathroom.  The tub/shower that it has will cease to exist and be replaced with a jacuzzi tub big enough to fit two people, and a separate shower.  To make up for turning the only bathroom upstairs into a private master bath, the coat and linen closets will be combined to make a powder room for guests and anyone else who can’t run downstairs to use the toilet.  I might even make the garden tub actually sit in the master bedroom so that it has a view of the T.V. just like they do at the fun bed and breakfast places I’ve seen.  All of that would include moving walls, rearranging plumbing, adding tile, choosing what kind of shower to go for…and a lot of other costly things that I can’t expect I’ll ever be able to afford or to even consider trying to do by myself to cut costs.  But, hey, I can dream.

My Current Master Bedroom Plan

As stated earlier, I’m working on a budget of basically $0.00, so my actual plan involves little more than decorating with certain colors and schemes using things I already have or lucky finds on freecycle, at the thrift store, walmart, or maybe Ikea (if I’m really lucky).  What I already have includes a lot of Superman stuff, because he’s my husband’s favorite superhero, and my husband is my favorite superhero.  To go with that starting point, I’ve decided to attempt a master bedroom that incorporates the primary colors, and then black and white to make it a little more sophisticated than a kids’ playroom.  I’ve looked for a while and never seen anyone try that kind of color combination for a master bedroom, so this is a pretty risky and bold move for me.  I’m not very good at seeing the end result in my head.  I’ll just have to do my best and decide at the end whether I like it.

One of the projects I want to try as I am attempting this daring feat is a dresser makeover.  Here are some ideas I’ve seen that I like:

The "Before" picture here is almost exactly what my dresser looks like right now.

The “Before” picture here is almost exactly what my dresser looks like right now. I like how the pulls sparkle against the newly painted drawers.

I like the idea of decorating a dresser using paper or fabric and Mod Podge.

I like the idea of decorating a dresser using paper or fabric and Mod Podge.

I really like these dressers that have posters on them.  They turn a functioning piece of furniture into an artwork and a room's focal point.

I really like these dressers that have posters on them. They turn a functioning piece of furniture into an artwork and a room’s focal point.

This dresser makeover was my original inspiration to brighten my own dresser and make it something I like to look at.

This dresser makeover was my original inspiration to brighten my own dresser and make it something I like to look at.

Well, now that it’s all written down and public, I guess I’ll have to do my best here and come back again with updates on my progress.  Here goes nothing!

One comment on “Master Bedroom Makeover Plans

  1. Nat
    July 9, 2013

    Hey Angie! Nat here, from My Sister’s Suitcase! You won the copy of Fresh Style Magazine and we’d love to send it out to you! Email us your address at sisterssuitcase(at)gmail(dot)com Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Crafty inspirations and Future Plans and tagged , , , , .
