My Chronicle

Life as a loving homemaker

Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars Experiment (and Recipe)

I saw this on Pinterest by Bakerlady. She shares a recipe for making bars that taste exactly like Reese’s Peanut Butter cups. I decided to try it out since I had all the ingredients and I wanted something sweet to eat and share.

It turned out great! I actually did only a half batch of the peanut butter part and a regular amount of the chocolate because I wanted to have chocolate on top and on bottom. Then I put it all in a pie dish because my 8×8 pan was still holding a previous concoction. It actually was a fun shape because it looked sort of like a giant Reese’s cup!

My only recommendation for anyone trying it the way I did it is to put in the half of the chocolate that goes on the bottom first and refrigerate that for a bit before adding the peanut butter stuff on top and the top layer of chocolate over that. It still turned out fine for me, but the bottom layer ended up a bit thin because of all the weight added on top of it before it was really solid.

Also, one last note is that my bars were best after refrigerating them for well over an hour. At one hour they were still kind of soft.

I really liked these bars and plan to make them again sometime when I have another chocolate/peanut butter craving or when I want to give them to someone else who does.

Just for future reference, here’s the recipe, but please visit Bakerlady’s blog as well as Let’s Dish  (mentioned by Bakerlady) to find more good stuff as well.

Ingredients
1 cup butter melted
2 cups graham cracker crumbs (use the boxed kind, or grind them in a food processor. Tiny granules.)
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 cup + 4 tablespoons peanut butter
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions
In a medium bowl, mix together the melted butter, graham cracker crumbs, confectioners’ sugar, and 1 cup peanut butter until well blended. Press evenly into the bottom of an ungreased 9×13 inch pan. In a metal bowl over simmering water, or in the microwave, melt the chocolate chips with the peanut butter, stirring occasionally until smooth. Spread over the peanut butter layer. Refrigerate for at least one hour before cutting into squares.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2012 by in Completed Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , .
